A Prayer and Meditation for Holy Week

I absolutely had to share this in my blog.  This was something that my mom sent to me that really speaks to my path in coming home and also to Holy Week.  Enjoy!

Reading,
Isaiah 50:4-9:
==========================
The Lord GOD has given me
a well-trained tongue,
That I might know how to speak to the weary
a word that will rouse them.
Morning after morning
he opens my ear that I may hear;
And I have not rebelled,
have not turned back.
I gave my back to those who beat me,
my cheeks to those who plucked my beard;
My face I did not shield
from buffets and spitting.

The Lord GOD is my help,
therefore I am not disgraced;
I have set my face like flint,
knowing that I shall not be put to shame.
He is near who upholds my right;
if anyone wishes to oppose me,
let us appear together.
Who disputes my right?
Let him confront me.
See, the Lord GOD is my help;
who will prove me wrong?

Meditation:
===================
“I have not rebelled, have not turned back.” (Isaiah 50:5)

It’s amazing the detail with which these prophetic poems known as the
Suffering Servant describe the way Jesus conducted his life—especially
during his Passion. This passage, for instance, paints a remarkably
vivid picture of Jesus’ endurance and lonely struggle to fulfill his
mission in a world that was hostile to him and everything he stood for.

Suffering and endurance in the name of God were not unique to Jesus,
however. These passages describe also the hardships endured by prophets
who proclaimed the word of the Lord to Israel. For their testimonies,
Jeremiah, Ezekiel, Amos, and many others suffered at the hands of their
own people. Jeremiah, for example, was thrown into a muddy, abandoned
cistern where it was hoped he would starve. He was eventually rescued
but later was kidnapped and taken to Egypt against his will. Elijah was
under constant danger of execution by Queen Jezebel. Even Ezekiel—living
with his fellow Jews as an exile in Babylon—was an outcast.

What stands out in Jesus’ sufferings in contrast to these prophets is
his willing submission to such abuse (Isaiah 50:5-6). Inspired by love,
Jesus freely chose to give his life to win our freedom. He foresaw the
mistreatment, torture, and death that would be his, but he went forward.
Fully human, capable of physical and emotional pain, Jesus gave himself
to his oppressors (50:6). The innocent died for the guilty; the faithful
for the unfaithful. This was the greatest act of love the world has ever
known.

Tomorrow we begin the Triduum, the great three-day celebration of our
redemption. During these days, we will recall the suffering by which
Jesus offered a way back to God from the exile of disobedience and sin.
In the liturgies we will relive the drama of Jesus’ last hours and the
unfolding of God’s plan of salvation. Let’s spend today pondering Jesus,
the Servant of God who freely offered himself to his enemies. May praise
well up in our hearts as we gaze upon our suffering Messiah-King!

“Blessed be your name, Jesus! By your death and resurrection, you have
filled us with every spiritual blessing in the heavens. We proclaim you
as beloved of the Father, Son of God, and Anointed One. May your name be
exalted forever!”

Psalm 69:8-10,21-22,31,33-34; Matthew 26:14-25

(From the “Word Among Us” — http://www.wau.org)

About Wandering the Path Home

This is the story of my return to the Catholic Church. I also have a blog, Back to First Position, documenting my journey as an adult beginner in ballet.
This entry was posted in Prayers and Meditations and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

