Visitation Monastery

“Do not expect the most out of the biggest and the loudest, but in the small and the quiet.  It is here that the Sacred Heart of Jesus can be found”

The Visitation Monastery is located in Mobile, AL and I spent three wonderful prayer filled days there in July 2011.  It was a ladies only silent retreat meaning there was so to be very little talking.  The time is yours to spend in prayer and/or contemplation.  I learned about the retreat in my church bulletin in April soon after hearing of another’s experience at a similar retreat. I remember wishing I could to something like that and in less than two weeks time I saw an announcement for it! Hooray!  I couldn’t make my reservation fast enough!  I didn’t quite know what to expect.  I had never done anything like this in my life.  I had never been to a convent or monastery ever!  My friends and family were asking what sort of things would I do and if I was becoming a nun!  There is an order of cloistered nuns at the Monastery and I think that’s where they got the idea from after showing them the website.    I was so grateful to my new boss that she allowed me to go on the retreat despite it being a hectic time at work.  She was very supportive and excited for me to go.

I have actually hemmed and hawed about how much I wanted to say about my time in the Monastery. It was a very personal time and that can be intimidating to expose something so private. I kept a journal while I was there and I am so glad I did to be able to “capture” the moment.  I have thought daily about blogging about my retreat; how much to write, should I transcribe my journal, or what nuggets I wanted to keep to myself. I think the process of coming to a decision on how and what to write is what delayed me nearly two months since I first returned from retreat.  I decided that since my whole purpose in creating this blog was to share my experiences while on my Wandering Path and to be as honest as possible with others, I do want to share all of my experience at the Monastery, especially since it was the most spiritually profound experience of my life and it ranks up there with the birth of my son in the order of all time experiences.  It would be selfish to keep it all to myself and to hold it in limbo in a notebook or in the thoughts rattling through my head.  I want others to feel as I felt and to grow and live in a closer relationship and love with Jesus Christ.  I am learning that I am on this Wandering Path not only for myself but for others.  My experience in the Monastery is the bedrock upon which my RCIA time will be built and the shore on which I landed in my new life as a Catholic.

I will be doing two follow-up posts on my journal and experiences in the Monastery and I hope you will join me.  Check back soon or even better click the subscribe button! I don’t bite. 🙂

 The two pictures on this page are some I took during my retreat.  The quote is mine too.

 

About Wandering the Path Home

This is the story of my return to the Catholic Church. I also have a blog, Back to First Position, documenting my journey as an adult beginner in ballet.
This entry was posted in Visitation Monastery and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

